Massachusetts Life

Blogging: The Begining

I’m not entirely sure of how to start one of these things…

I guess I can just tell you all about myself. I am originally from New Jersey; my family and I had lived their for 20 years. Seeing that I’m about to turn 22, I’d say that’s the majority of my life. And if you are thinking that I am just some Guido from the shore; that’s not true. I am from a small town called Montgomery. It’s right down the road from Princeton (Yah know, Princeton University). We had a small farm at the end of my street and we actually lived on two acres of land, with a shed and garden. I loved living in a small town in NJ. Here is a picture of my house when we sold it. fullsizerender

My family currently lives in Northbridge, Massachusetts. It is an hour outside of Boston. And also no I don’t have either accent. Here is a picture of our house.northbridge

In the Fall of 2013 I started attending a college in Texas called Texas A&M University at Galveston and I am majoring in Marine Biology. I don’t consider myself a “Southern Girl”, even though people assume as much with the blonde hair and blue eyes. I love going to school on an island and being able to go lay on the sandy beach whenever I want. I am graduating in May of 2017 and dare I say I am going to miss this place. It is always something amazing when I can walk on the beach at night, staring at the beautiful moon and feeling the squish of sand between my toes. I have been able to have amazing opportunities at this university. I am an Undergraduate Research Scholar studying hydromedusae in the Galveston Ship Channel. It is incredible work! I am putting together a never before seen calendar of pictures of these hydra. I can’t wait to be announced at graduation as a Scholar.

Some other fun facts about me…. I have been to 45 states (including Alaska) all by driving. You could say my family enjoys road trips (Yeah I know. We are nuts!). I am of Hungarian descent and actually make quite a few Hungarian dishes at home. My dad is from Texas and my mom is from New Jersey (One of the reasons I came to study in Texas). I speak fluent German and have actually done an exchange program to study in Germany for three weeks. I am an avid photographer. I am classically trained on the violin starting from the age of 10. I taught myself how to play the guitar. My friend and I are in a band (or duo rather) and make music videos on YouTube. Well not as often as I would like, but it’s a hobby. I studied abroad in New Zealand to study cetaceans, other marine mammals and sea birds. I learned a lot about the Maori culture and can’t wait to go back.

I hope to attend graduate school and obtain a PhD in Marine Biology (or a field related), get married and have a family one day.

But by the grace of God go I.

One thought on “Blogging: The Begining

Leave a Reply

