New Year · Uncategorized

Top 5 Things I Learned in 2016

As the year of 2016 is ending I just wanted to reflect over the ups and downs and share them. There were quite a few things I learned in 2016, but I’m just going to list my top 5.

1) Hard Work
Hard work is required to do anything in life. I had to really push myself this year for good grades and to fit into my new job. Although the type of work I was doing changed, I was working with different individuals. I took on a huge endeavor of writing an undergraduate thesis. Luckily my research is going wonderfully with the help of my partner Tess. If I set my mind to it I believed I could achieve.

2) Being Positive
When my hard work fails to pay off I really needed to be positive this year. I unfortunately met quite a few bumps in the road in 2016, but I never wanted to admit defeat, even when I felt like a failure. In life, especially in college, if you fall off the horse just get right back up again. Being positive is the best thing you can do sometimes when it seems like friendships have faltered. An important thing to remember is that some people are only rest stops on your road trip of life. It’s important to not let negativity and ignorance get you down.

3) Heartbreak
This year I ended a relationship with a great guy who was not the one. Even if you feel like you have explained yourself clearly, others will not like what you have to say and will throw you to the side as if your relationship meant nothing. Facing unpredictable outcomes is heartbreaking and unfortunately that is where regret sneaks into your head. With much strength and prayer I feel out of love. Some people will never forgive you and the won’t respect the choices you make in life, but don’t focus on those bad apples when the Holy Spirit can be your guide.

4) How to Enjoy Life
Without letting heartbreak and failure crush me I filled my life with joy. Going to the beach, hanging out with amazing friends and seriously focusing on working on my photography skills, I was able to enjoy life again, doing what I loved. Never let negativity and cruel people get you down, enjoy life to its fullest. Life isn’t worth living if you aren’t having fun and love the people you chose to surround yourself with and love what you do. Sometimes I felt like I couldn’t go home for the night without feeling cold inside, so I decided to push the negativity out and follow my heart to be surrounded by amazing people and friends; to enjoy the life I’ve been so graciously been given.

5) Loving Again
Coming to realization that if I’m enjoying my life, being positive and looking forward I could love again. And I did. Certain people who accept you for who you are, faults and all, are worth keeping around. A person who makes you happy to wake up in the morning and to not to be disheartened by cruel intentioned people is a wonderful human. At first I thought meeting someone else so soon was too good to be true. Never second guess yourself! When you can just tell another person everything about yourself and not feel like you’re being judged, and when that other person feels the same way, is rare. Judging others like a book by its cover is so prevalent among people my age. When you put judgments aside, be honest, and are not afraid to confront someone you are golden. The man I met makes me laugh, thinks I’m beautiful inside and out, never judges me or my thoughts, is always honest, and makes me feel so many other things I can’t put into words. He helped me to learn to express myself and to not just bottle up my feelings. I am purely happy. And just to top it off we got a dog!

Never let negativity get you down! I look forward to what’s in store for 2017 and pray well wishes unto everyone!

Peace & Love

One thought on “Top 5 Things I Learned in 2016

Leave a Reply

